Selasa, Jun 10, 2008

Monday June 9, 2008 MYT 10:00:11 PM

National Inflation Council members named


PUTRAJAYA: The Government announced the members of the National Inflation Council on Monday.

The council is chaired by Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi with Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak as deputy chairman.

The members are Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Tan Sri Amirsham A. Aziz, Transport Minister Datuk Ong Tee Keat, Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Ong Ka Chuan, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad, Agriculture and Agro-based Industries Minister Datuk Mustapa Mohamed, and International Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Other members are Bank Negara governor Tan Sri Zeti Akhtar Aziz, Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Sidek Hassan, Economic Planning Unit director-general Tan Sri Sulaiman Mahbob, and Treasury secretary-general Tan Sri Dr Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah.

Members from the private sector are social activist Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, MTUC secretary-general G. Rajasekaran, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia vice-chancellor Datuk Dr Sharifah Hapsah Syed Hasan Shahabudin and Bank Rakyat chairman Tan Sri Dr Syed Jalaludin Syed Salim.

Also members are Etiqa Insurance Bhd chairman Tan Sri Mega Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor, former deputy Bank Negara governor Tan Sri Lin See Yan, Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon, and economist Datuk Zainal Aznam Yusoff.

Bank Negara directors Datuk Oh Siew Nam, National Farmers’ Association representative Datuk Zainal Dahalan, and Bernama chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Annuar Zaini are also members, as are Malaysian Employers Federation president Datuk Azman Shah Harun, Pan-Malaysia Bus Operators Association president Datuk Ashfar Ali, Cuepacs president Omar Osman and Federation of Malaysian Consumer Associations representative Yusof Abdul Rahman.

Abdullah also announced the formation of three committees – the first to look into more efficient use of energy resources, the second to enhance public bus service and the third to improve dissemination of information to the media.

Tiada ulasan: